Paper Nostalgia

20140309-182708.jpg
The subject of a blog post about paper sent me wondering where I would find the roots of my interest in papery matters. And I find I can lay the blame fair and square on three books. The yellow, red and blue “Grabbleton” books- which translates as “Lucky Dip”.

20140309-182807.jpg

These books ended up with me via my Great Aunt known to all as “Iekie”. She had been a primary school teacher with what seemed like an endless supply of things to read or make that might appeal to a little child. But once she retired these books were in my home and came into their own when I’d been off school sick and was recovering. I’d pore over them and choose something to make. The supplies were usually simple and close at hand, after all, these were intended for use in schools in the first half of the 20th Century. Wool, matchboxes, scraps of fabric and most of all paper.

I dug them out a year or so ago and made an updated version of something featured there – using a simple “fortune teller” paper fold to make a picture frame. To refresh my memory I had another go at it today -shown in the image at the top of this post. this time with pages torn from an “old but not precious” atlas. I tried a version with a map section and another part using the index which makes a nice black and white frame. Last time round I used brightly coloured origami paper and a lot more washi tape – so there are endless variations. It frames these little images perfectly and would be a nice lightweight item to post. One of these days I will size the original square so that a Polaroid image would slot straight in.

I like the thread of connectedness that looking at these books gives me, letting me tap into a family story. As an aside, Iekie was also an accomplished amateur photographer ,developing and printing her own work. Cropping was done with a guillotine that I now use myself- after 80 or so years it is still going strong.

20140309-182759.jpg

There will soon be a new range of prints, including some of the mini sizes shown here, coming to my shop – if you’d like to be tipped off about new products and behind the scenes snippets I’d invite you to subscribe to my studio newsletter.

*****************
The PaperLove Blog Hop is a celebration of all things paper! Follow the links to discover more bloggers who love paper and use it to inspire and delight. And if you want to explore a whole world of paper, and stretch your paper passion further with a host of creative projects, why not join the innovative new online course PaperLove (starts March 31). Led by book artist Rachel Hazell, PaperLove is a five week creative adventure for paper lovers. Find out more here.

Participant lista paperlovebloghop_200

Majo Bautista / Tona Bell / Louise Best / Cathy Bluteau / Jennifer Bomgardner / Giova Brusa / Lindsay Buck / Beka Buckley / Joanna Caskie / Jonathan Chapman (Mr Yen) / Halle Cisco / Sarah Clare / Cathryn Clarge / Dawn Clarkson / Rhiannon Connelly / Jenny D’Fuego / Molly Dhiman / Ian Dudley / Ayisatu Emore / Akmal Farid / Monika Forsberg / Claire Fritz-Domeney / Louise Gale / Chrissy Gaskell / Julie Hamilton / Emma Hawman / Rachel Hazell / Holly Helgeson / Claudine Hellmuth / Kim Henkel / Sarah Hoffman / Joanne Hus / Paula Joerling / Beth Kempton / Julie Kirk / Eos Koch / Katie LaClair / Kristy Lankford / Michelle Manolov / Doreen Marts / Rosie Martinez-Dekker / Tori Mears / Maria Mederios / Lise Meijer / Debbie Miller / MaryJane Mitchell / Suzy Naidoo / Grace Noel / Hannah Nunn / Camilla Olsson / Jo Packham / Rachelle Panagarry / Monette Pangan / Melanie Paul / Nicole Piar / Jen Pitta / Liz Plummer / Julie Reed / Michelle Reynolds / Lisa Rivas / Angee Robertson / Natalie Ryan / Aisling Ryan / Elisabet Sapena / Kyrrha Sevco / Jamie Sprague / Elizabeth Steele / Terri Stephens / Juniper Stokes / Mary Tanana / Maike Thoma / Linda Tieu / Gabrielle Treanor / Tammy Tutterow / Deborah Velasquez / Jordan Vinograd Kim / Cat Whipple / Brooke Witt / Katie Wood / Amelia Woodbridge

11 thoughts on “Paper Nostalgia

  1. It was through your FB page that I saw this blog and had to get on it myself!
    So thank you!
    And it is true, if we dig really deep we realize that our love of paper comes primordially through the books we read as children!

Leave a Reply

