Day 15 – 10 Random Snippets from Hive13 in Berlin

20130529-224157.jpg

1. ” If you don’t feel it, don’t blog it” Said Jenni Fuchs from The Museum Diary blog during her presentation on niche blogging . Despite this very specific topic she had a lot of great ideas about how to create content in general which you can read from the linked post here .

2. Use Pintrest to curate images from your blog by category. Tip from Sophie – Charlotte Chapman Ma Petite Valisetteand also Freunde von Freunden. (I have never really taken to Pintrest as I found their rules in the beginning rather confusing . That has probably been smoothed out by now so will have another look . )

3. You don’t need to be given permission – just start – from Marlous Snijder of Oh Marie Magazine

4. Kirsten Jassies (Just Kirstin is her personal blog)from the Dutch magazine publisher Sanoma talked about blogging networks as a way to grow your audience. I realised that I do have an informal network – but I’d like to look into this a bit more.

5. Video portraits might well become the new business card. But any video should be no longer than 5 minutes, preferably less as attention span is very short online . From the video blogging workshop by Katrina Tan-Conte . You can find out more about what she does at her website Zero The One

6.Don’t try to do everything yourself – look for collaborations . More than one speaker mentioned this.

7.If you haven’t heard of Skillshare it is a great place to find short courses online. I am planning to do the one by Katrina who taught the video workshop . I’ve already done one about making maps by Anne Detmeyer Pret a Voyager which was great fun.(and which is about to run again)

8.The most important reason, for me, to attend conferences and events is to get out into the world and meet people. Obviously I hope that I will learn some new things or leave inspired and recharged , but the top reason is to make connections

9.Sometimes the presentation that you don’t initially think is relevant to your situation will offer up the most gems.

10. It is a bit deflating when a conference ends with a less good presentation. This has happened at the last two events I attended – and it sends everyone away without the buzz that you would hope for . Reminder to myself if I ever find myself organising an event – have a good finale !

(11. As various other blogs have mentioned – there was some room for improvement with regards to the details of the conference but I would rather give my feedback directly to the organisers.)

6 thoughts on “Day 15 – 10 Random Snippets from Hive13 in Berlin

    • I’m guessing you are in Scotland by now, as I’ve spent most of the last week scooting around Holland. It was lovely to meet you – and am quite chuffed that a museum expert’s favourite museum is my local one 🙂

  1. I absolutely agree that the highlight of these events is to put ourselves out there and interact with lots of people and bloggers from different niches! However I have also come to expect a certain standard when it comes to the talks. Which is why is so unfortunate that the last talk was without a doubt the worst of the entire conference. The program said we were going to hear all these tips and tricks and insider info, and instead we got a few old news, wrapped with a “if I told you more I’d have to charge you” and concluded by “feel free to make up a persona, but make it look good”. WHAT??? that just ended the conference on the worst note possible for me.

    The speakers really should have to submit their topics to the conference organizers for approval, IMO. Than we can ensure that the talks stay on topic and are helpful and are not just a soap box for someone to blow their horn ;-).

    • I agree with your comments about the last speaker. It made a really flat ending to the weekend. It was so short that it did seem as though he just got fed up and ended it early.
      I must admit, I rather assumed that speakers would have to submit , not only their topics but also a detailed outline to conference organisers.

Leave a Reply

