Tuesday Travel – New Hopetoun Gardens

New Hopetoun Gardens

Well, New Hopetoun Gardens  is not terribly far for me to travel now. But with a new garden to look after I was off in search of some plants – specifically ranunculus.  I failed in that mission but did see a lot of other beauties. If you’d like to visit just head for the Forth Road Bridge and you’ll find it on the south side not far from Hopetoun House.

I was on the lookout for a rowan tree as, unusally for Scottish gardens , there does not seem to be one here already.

Rowan

Rowan

And I also spotted a few Meconopsis – also known as Himalayan Poppies.  They have been a favourite ever since my time as a silk painter with their very intense blue colour.

MeconopsisJust time for a quick cuppa in the sunshine before heading home.

Time for Tea***************************

Next issue of the Studio Newsletter out later this week – if you don’t want to miss out you can make sure you get a copy here.

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Travel – New Hopetoun Gardens

  1. Sounds like a great day out!

    Ranunculus are gorgeous aren’t they? I planted a pot full of bulbs (corms?) earlier this year so fingers crossed there’ll be a fantastic display to photograph later on – only a couple of inches of foliage so far!

  2. Looks like a wonderful place to explore. I love the blue poppies! I have never seen those in person so your photograph was a welcome delight.

    We get ranunculus early, so I already photographed some this spring. Love them!

  3. So nice… it must be nice to get a new plant and bring it home to the garden… I love those blue Poppies too! I didn’t even know they exist! I may have seen some pictures before but I probably thought they are digitally altered 🙂 How wonderful mother nature can be!

Leave a Reply

