Work in Progress – Do you share or do you keep silent ?

I’ve touched on this issue in the past, and have just come back to it during the last week. In an earlier post I discussed how my preference used to be to not talk about things that I was working on, because somehow the ” talking” got in the way of the “doing”.

Then when I set off on my “12 City Project” I was very open about what I was doing, even though at the outset I didn’t have a really clear plan. To my surprise, discussing this work had a really positive effect and the encouragement and interest it got was definitely a factor that helped me to complete it.

So, in the light of this , I thought I’d carry on in the same vein, in the second stage of this project ,where I’m pulling everything together into a book and a travelling exhibition. To my surprise, this stage has not benefited from openness or discussion in the same way. And I now plan to get on with it quietly , with little comment.

So my question is – when working on a project – do you talk about it while it is in progress ? Do you wait until you have completed it before you talk about it ? Does the energy around the project feel different depending on which option you choose ? And how do you decide which route is best for your current work ?

A lot of questions, but I’d be really interested to hear your thoughts and experiences on this.

By the way, if  you’d like to stay in the loop and find out about future giveways and other special events you can subscribe to my monthly Studio Newsletter here. ( As a little bonus there are also 2 freebie postcard downloads.)

3 thoughts on “Work in Progress – Do you share or do you keep silent ?

  1. Sometimes I do talk about my projects, sometimes not…. I dont have a rule for that. I would say listen to your instincts 🙂

    Lovely picture, by the way 🙂

  2. For me, I don’t talk about art, a series of pieces I’m working on, but if it’s a show I’m getting together and setting up, then yes, input is welcome, so I do try to get ideas. I think about my art as being personal until it’s completed, but a show is meant for others.

Leave a Reply

