Five on a Friday – Crafty Resources.

Orange

My new favourites ( only discovered in the last few months – how did I miss them before ?) are the Craftcast  Podcasts by Alison Lee. They are absolutely excellent ! About an hour long , with reviews of new craft books and interesting items and then one main interview. The choice of guests really reflects all kinds of interests right across the craft spectrum . In a fit of catching up I downloaded all of them and have been listening to them as I travelled on my last trip, and now as I walk around town. Recent ones that I’ve listened to have covered polymer clay art, gold jewellery techniques, polaroid transfers and embroidery. A terrific resource for learning about new techniques or just to hear about another creative life. I learn so much from these ,even if it is not a discipline that is immediately relevant to what I do myself.

One of the artists featured is the collage artist Claudine Hellmuth – on her blog she regularly does little technique tutorials.

A great blog that covers all kinds of Polymer clay techniques is www.polymerclaydaily.com . I’ve only dabbled in this in the past, making loads of buttons but I have a few plans to have another go.

 I can’t really list five crafty resources without including Kaffe Fassett  again. He is giving a couple of lectures and workshops at a few locations in the USA from now until the end of October.

And another new favourite is Sherri Haab – I bought one of her recent books on precious metal clay and other mixed media. It also looks a really interesting medium and I am keen to have a go with it sometime.

If you have some favourite craft sites I’d love to hear – in the comments or on your own blog.

5 thoughts on “Five on a Friday – Crafty Resources.

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog, “The Joy Diet” has been kind of interesting, some ups and downs, but any movement forward it good with me. I love the flower pic, love the colors.

  2. this post was great! gave me a new craft site to bookmark and use and reintroduced me to an artist I used to make altered books with years ago. thanks, Rhiannon 😉

Leave a Reply

