12 City Project – Istanbul

Istanbul - 12 City Project.

Istanbul - 12 City Project.

A quick glimpse at some of the work in progress. Istanbul is city number 9 in my series of 12. I particularly wanted to include this city to provide a bit of real contrast with the Western European cities. In each city I have tried to photograph one or two very recognisable locations , but apart from that have shot images purely for their personal appeal.  This has revealed an interesting aspect – that many cities are not immediately identifiable, once you are away from the iconic spots. Maybe some of the photos from Istanbul will also fall into this category. However most of them have a very clear sense of place.

I particularly like this shot because it was my view for breakfast every day, and also the roof terrace where I did all the manipulations in the evening. Supplied with cups of tea by the kind hotel staff and with a gentle breeze coming in off the sea.

As well as processing my images from this trip I am also already preparing for the next 2 cities Budapest and Sibiu at the end of June/beginning of July.

3 thoughts on “12 City Project – Istanbul

  1. Hi,
    Just a quick note to say hello! You left a comment on the guest post I wrote for Andy Hayes site Sharing Experiences and I wanted to pop over to your site to “get to know you”! Nice “meeting you”.
    Cheers,
    Toma, aka The Antiques Diva (TM)

Leave a Reply

