Childhood Inspirations Revisited.

So, when I was little a favourite thing was to spend a morning reading one of three big books ( published in the 1930s ) – the Red, Blue or Yellow “Grabbelton”  - which means “Lucky Dip” in Dutch. We had acquired these books after my great aunt retired from primary teaching.  I think these books were mostly a resource for teachers – but I was happy to read them too.

The premise was to make all kinds of things from almost nothing – paper, match boxes and  a little wool.

And I had a chance to revisit them the other week. How surprising to see a lot of the ideas are still current in that rather “retro” phase the craft world seems to being going through.

And I was tempted to have a go with something. What caught my eye was a feature on the very familiar “fortune teller” – but they had the alternative use of a picture frame.

Back in Holland I bought a pack of origami paper and set to work. Living in a temporary place I’m trying not to accumulate too much “stuff”. But still, I want to hang up pictures and decorate the place so that it feels “mine”.

So – a little bit of paper , some washi tape and the world famous “Japanese Screw Punch”

If I’d had a larger image I could have just tucked it into the corners as on the right above. In that case the image would be on the diagonal and the frame would be squared.

- and voila – a picture frame for a traveller.

Again, using a smaller image here I have taped the image into the central square. Next I will tuck the folded points behind to create the diamond shaped frame.

When I get some larger paper I’m going to try and scaled up version and also make a couple that would be suitable for slotting a Polaroid photograph straight into.

As well as all this nostalgia I’ve been pressing on with my “Wearable Art” collection – see the current range here.

And also, if you’d like to keep in the know with current offers and ‘behind the scenes” snippets make sure you sign up for my Studio Newsletter – out roughly once a month.

 

Leave a Reply

