Dutch Life

I’ve decided to start a category on my blog just called “Dutch Life”. Images that I’ll include not so much for their artistic content , but because they represent little snippets of life that strike me as typcially Dutch. Even though the UK and the Netherlands are really pretty close geographically, there are a surprising number of differences and quirky details that make each country distinctive.

Part of the appeal for me , of this part time Dutch phase, is to explore those things – tiny details and great big differences.

Flying the flag merits a post of its own , but one detail that I’ve always liked is the tradition that school leavers hang their school bag on the flag pole to signify the end of their school days. Must have been the last day of school for some yesterday as I spotted a few bags.

And still time to enter the Giveaway – all you have to do is leave a comment telling me which pendant or ring you would choose, and if you feel inclined – why – http://starrybluesky.wordpress.com/2012/06/20/wearable-art-official-launch-and-giveaway/

One thought on “Dutch Life

Leave a Reply

